What have I learnt?

What have I learnt?
• I have learnt some of Maya’s tools which can all be used to make modelling more efficient.

• I’ve learnt how to limit poly counts.

• I draw concept art before I model so then its easier to get an idea of what the final model will like.
What do I need to improve on?
• I need to learn more about In-Depth UV mapping.

• I need to learn more of Maya’s features and tools which could help me be more efficient When modelling.

• I need to learn how to texture and also how to create detailed Bump maps.

5 Skills that I want to improve
UV mapping
I think I really need to improve on UV mapping since I could have an amazing model but without the correct UV mapping, it will be useless. I can improve my UV mapping skills by looking at YouTube tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uup93VASi_g
Bump mapping
Bump mapping is an essential part of creating a 3D asset, even more so if it is for a game engine / low poly model. This is because it uses fake depth to create the illusion that the model is more detailed than it is. I can learn this skill by watching YouTube tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rwj0mQTMrK8
Create professional textures
Creating high quality textures is something that I am not very good at, I could create good textures by combining textures taken from online but this would be classed as plagiarism and can also get you in trouble for copyright in the industry: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Bo9VwnfXQI

Leave a comment